SCREENING SKEDS of what's in Iloilo Theaters this Week...
|| FDCP Cinematheque || UPV Cinematheque || Robinsons Movieworld JARO ||
|| Robinsons Movieworld ILOILO || SM Cinema Iloilo ||
[all screening skeds are subject to change without prior notice]

Monday, February 29, 2016

The 88th Academy Awards Winners List

It was a radiantly star-studded evening in Hollywood as the 88th Academy Awards was held last Sunday February 28, 2016 at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, California. This event presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), continues the annual event, honoring the best films of the year. This year, the Best Picture Award went to The Revenant, Best Director went to Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Best Actor went to Leonardo DiCaprio, and Best Actress went to Brie Larson. [hit the jump to continue]

Here's the complete list of the nominees and the victors:

Best Picture Nominees:
The Big Short – Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleiner
Bridge of Spies – Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt, and Kristie Macosko Krieger
Brooklyn – Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey
Mad Max: Fury Road – Doug Mitchell and George Miller
The Martian – Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer, and Mark Huffam
The Revenant – Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent, and Keith Redmon
Room – Ed Guiney
WINNER: Spotlight – Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, and Blye Pagon Faust

Best Director Nominees:
Adam McKay – The Big Short
George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
Lenny Abrahamson – Room
Tom McCarthy – Spotlight
WINNER: Alejandro G. Iñárritu – The Revenant

Best Actor Nominees:
Bryan Cranston – Trumbo as Dalton Trumbo
Matt Damon – The Martian as Mark Watney
Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs as Steve Jobs
Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl as Lili Elbe
WINNER: Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant as Hugh Glass

Best Actress Nominees:
Cate Blanchett – Carol as Carol Aird
Jennifer Lawrence – Joy as Joy Mangano
Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years as Kate Mercer
Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn as Eilis Lacey
WINNER: Brie Larson – Room as Joy "Ma" Newsome

Best Supporting Actor Nominees:
Christian Bale – The Big Short as Michael Burry
Tom Hardy – The Revenant as John Fitzgerald
Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight as Michael Rezendes
Sylvester Stallone – Creed as Rocky Balboa
WINNER: Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies as Rudolf Abel

Best Supporting Actress Nominees:
Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight as Daisy Domergue
Rooney Mara – Carol as Therese Belivet
Rachel McAdams – Spotlight as Sacha Pfeiffer
Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs as Joanna Hoffman
WINNER: Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl as Gerda Wegener

Best Cinematography Nominees:
Carol – Ed Lachman
The Hateful Eight – Robert Richardson
Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
Sicario – Roger Deakins
WINNER: The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Film Editing Nominees:
The Big Short – Hank Corwin
The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione
Spotlight – Tom McArdle
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey
WINNER: Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel

Other winners include
Best Original Screenplay: Spotlight – Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer
Best Adapted Screenplay: The Big Short – Adam McKay and Charles Randolph from The Big Short by Michael Lewis
Best Animated Feature Film: Inside Out – Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera
Best Foreign Language Film: Son of Saul (Hungary) in Hungarian – László Nemes
Best Documentary – Feature: Amy – Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees
Best Documentary – Short Subject: A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness – Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy
Best Live Action Short Film: Stutterer – Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage
Best Animated Short Film: Bear Story – Pato Escala Pierart and Gabriel Osorio Vargas
Best Original Score: The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone
Best Original Song: "Writing's on the Wall" from Spectre – Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith
Best Sound Editing: Mad Max: Fury Road – Mark A. Mangini and David White
Best Sound Mixing: Mad Max: Fury Road – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff, and Ben Osmo
Best Production Design: Mad Max: Fury Road – Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson
Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Mad Max: Fury Road – Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, and Damian Martin
Best Costume Design: Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan
Best Visual Effects: Ex Machina – Mark Williams Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris, and Andrew Whitehurst


Search This Blog